My opinion of Joshua Harris and Marty Sampson

In the last week, there have been two big name Christians, renounce their faith: Joshua Harris, author of incredibly popular book, I Kissed Dating Goodbye, and Hillsong’s songwriter and singer, Marty Sampson.

I just wanted to say that when big names like these leave the faith, it can be so disheartening and discouraging. Mostly because some of us have looked up to these people, and think If they can’t make it, what chance do I have. I remember reading Harris’ book as a 14-year-old and pledging to only kiss a guy on my wedding day. I failed… many times! But I still believed in the concept of his book and thought God had blessed him because he had done things right. So, imagine how far my heart sank upon reading that this person I looked up to so much, was now questioning his faith. As Christians, so many of us have experienced this in countless different ways apart from these two men. Pastors who were caught living contrary to what they teach, a christian author/public speaker who used their success for selfish gain, or even a parent who committed adultery. The misconception is that they these people had their faith all figured out. It’s why we looked up to them in the first place, right?

Reality check: people fail us. (Rom. 3:23). The good news is that God will not! He is not human, therefore he never changes and never fails. People, on the other hand, will always fall short, no matter how much they look like they have it all together. I realize this may seem cynical, but it is just a fact of the human condition since Adam and Eve ate the apple. We can’t always count on people, but we can always count on God…..and his GRACE. That means, even if Harris and Sampson want to return to God after publicly denouncing their faith, they will be welcomed back with open arms. Isn’t that beautiful?

I don’t want to discredit what both of these men brought to their faith. Beautiful songs of worship for his creator, and a movement towards purity with the intent of pleasing his father’s heart. I don’t know what their personal battle was or how it would be to walk in their shoes. What I know they didn’t do, is keep their eyes above.

When we’re running a race, we don’t get distracted by those who have stopped and given up, we keep our eye on the prize, which is Jesus, and we run that race to the end. (“Let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith.” Heb. 12:1). The issue comes when we start looking to people instead of God. We start allowing our culture to define our faith, we let pop culture tell us what we should believe, and we start changing direction. Some of us take on an entirely different course altogether because things just got too difficult.

Visualize this. Imagine yourself in a river, trying to move against the current to go up. The current is strong, and it feels almost impossible to move past it. Some people give up and just let the current float them downstream. But if you keep going up, you will find the source of the river. Think of the river as your walk in faith, the current as the world, and the source, as God. Only those who make it past the current, find the source. I believe we are living in end times, so that current is getting stronger. The world is a constant force, pulling us further and further away from God if we let it, so we must simultaneously be vigilant.

In short, do not allow flawed people to discourage your faith and be vigilant in recognizing the ways this world is influencing you. (“Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.” Romans 12:2).

And remember what Jesus said, I have said these things to you, that in me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take heart; I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33). When the current gets too strong for us to bear, call on Jesus who has already overcome it!

More verses for motivation and reflection:

  • “And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.” Gal. 6:9
  • “I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.” Phil. 3:14
  • I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith; in the future there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day; and not only to me, but also to all who have loved His appearing.” 2 Tim. 4:7-8
  • Don’t you realize that in a race everyone runs, but only one person gets the prize? So run to win! All athletes are disciplined in their training. They do it to win a prize that will fade away, but we do it for an eternal prize.” 1 Cor. 9:24-25

Letters To A King

Leave a comment