Feeling Rejected?

Have you been feeling rejected lately? Or maybe you have felt this way all your life. Do you resent people for whom acceptance from others comes so easily for them, who may even be popular? In an age where social acceptance is so prevalent and desired, we would rather portray the most filtered versions of ourselves in life and social media than something closer to what is natural. This can actually perpetuate the mindset that we, the way we naturally are, are not good enough. So, we must constantly portray something better than ourselves in order to be loved or accepted.

Sometimes we think people reject us because of our flaws. I want to remind you that God does not make mistakes. He makes each of us with a set of strengths and a set of flaws. I believe God makes us with specific weaknesses, not only to humble us, but also to teach us how to turn them into strengths. He may want to use you to lead others in overcoming those same things in this world.

Paul painted this picture clearly in 2 Corinthians 12:7-9.

“So to keep me from becoming proud, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger from Satan to torment me and keep me from becoming proud. Three different times I begged the Lord to take it away. Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me.”

So, if you have been feeling rejected, or are plagued by thoughts that you are never good enough for people, rest in the reassurance that God will never reject us and he has a purpose in our afflictions. Even Jesus, the most holy being on the planet, was rejected by people. But that didn’t matter because God chose him for great honor! (1 Peter 2:4). Trust in the process God has for you, and know that sometimes He allows people to reject us so that we can get to a place where their approval doesn’t matter so much to us anymore. When this happens, God’s approval becomes that much more important to us because we realize He is truly the only one who would never forsake us (Heb. 13:5, Deut. 31:6). You will finally be able to grow in his purpose for you, without the purpose of men holding you back, their opinions like weeds. Strive more for God’s approval than other people’s and he will make you like a flower in full bloom.

For biblical reflections on rejection, click the link: https://god.net/god/bible-topics/god-and-you/gods-answer-for-rejection-and-loneliness/

Letters To A King

2 thoughts on “Feeling Rejected?

Leave a comment